Futsal World Championship Quarterfinals Set For Wednesday


The Group Stage at the 2015 AMF Futsal World Championship are complete and quarterfinal matchups are set. 16 teams from around the world came to Belarus last week in search of the title of world champion. Now just eight teams remain, including the host Belarus.

In the first quarterfinal Uruguay (3-0-0) will face Belgium (1-1-1). Defending world champion Colombia (3-0-0), who have scored 19 goals while giving up just three, will take on Russia (2-1-0).

Three-time champion Paraguay (2-0-1), who lost their final group stage match to Morocco, will face Belarus (2-0-1). The host nation defeated Brasil 2-1 to open the tournament before falling 4-3 to Uruguay. Their 2-1 victory over Australia earned the Belarusian side their spot in the elimination round.

In the fourth quarterfinal Argentina (2-1-0) will take on Czech Republic (1-1-1).

Four winners will advance to the semifinals on Friday. The 3rd Place Match and Final are scheduled for Saturday at Minsk-Arena.

Wednesday   quarterfinals:

-Uruguay v BelgiumAMF

-Colombia v Russia

-Paraguay v Belarus

-Argentina v Czech Republic

Past Futsal World Championship winners

1982: Brasil

1985: Brasil

1988: Paraguay

1991: Portugal

1994: Argentina

1997: Venezuela

2000: Colombia

2003: Paraguay

2007: Paraguay

2011: Colombia

Tech enthusiast, marketing and media. @Ludwig_Media

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Futsal, News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow on Twitter
Stats (August 2014)
  • 24,560 hits
%d bloggers like this: