Ron Newman Cup Championship Weekend Awarded to Chicago Mustangs

PASL Weekly Press Release

Professional Arena Soccer League 

Director of Electronic Media

Sydney Nusinov


Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Ron Newman Cup Championship Weekend Awarded to Chicago Mustangs

1/22/14  –  The Professional Arena Soccer League announced today that its Ron Newman Cup Championship Weekend will be played at the Sears Centre in Hoffman Estates, Illinois on March 15 and 16.

The 9,000 seat Sears Centre opened in 2006, and has accommodated arena soccer in the past.
The Chicago Mustangs, currently the only undefeated team in the PASL at 10-0, were selected by the league to host the championship weekend for the first time.  Dallas, Ontario, and San Diego, who has hosted three times, were also considered.

“This is a great opportunity for the Chicago Mustangs franchise,” said Mustangs owner Armando Gamboa. “The PASL has entrusted us with their marquee event and we have a chance to showcase our team and our league on a big stage.”

The host team receives a bye into the Newman Cup Semifinals March 15, which the Mustangs merit by possessing the league’s best record.  The top three teams from each division, aside from the host, will qualify for the playoffs.  With the Mustangs hosting, the Eastern Division will have four teams in the 10-team field.  The third seed in each division will open the playoffs at the number two seed and the winner of that game will play at the number one seed.  The three divisional playoff winners and Chicago will make up the final four lineup, with both league semifinals games being played on March 15 and the Newman Cup Championship slated for March 16.

The Premier Arena Soccer League (PASL-Premier, official developmental league of the PASL) Winter Nationals will also be held in Chicago the same weekend.

“We are excited to bring the Newman Cup Championship Weekend to Chicago,” said PASL Commissioner Kevin Milliken. “Armando and the Mustangs have done everything we’ve asked of them on and off the field and we’re proud to have them as hosts.”
The Ron Newman Cup was established in 2011/12 in honor of the legendary San Diego Sockers coach who won 10 indoor championships from 1982-1992.  The Sockers have won the first two Newman Cups and two North American Championships, prior to that, making them four-time defending champions. They hosted the league’s final weekend three of the last four years, winning all three times. They also won in 2011 when Cincinnati hosted.

About Professional Arena Soccer League and Premier Arena Soccer League 

The PASL is a professional league which began play on October 25, 2008.  The league, which began its sixth season in November, is the largest and longest-running arena soccer organization in the US. The Tulsa Revolution, Ontario Fury, Wichita B-52s, Monterrey Flash, Saltillo Rancho Seco, Cleveland Freeze, and Bay Area Rosal have been added for the 2013/14 season. The PASL-Premier is enjoying its 16th season as the nation’s top amateur arena soccer league and is the official developmental league of the PASL. Both the PASL and PASL-Premier are members of Confederacion Panamerica de Minifutbol (CPM). 


Tech enthusiast, marketing and media. @Ludwig_Media

Posted in Indoor soccer, News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow on Twitter
Stats (August 2014)
  • 24,620 hits
%d bloggers like this: